Sunday, April 27, 2014

Gluten-Free Oats

So last week, I had a post about gf oats, and how I prepare them in the morning. Well, I got questions like what is the difference between gluten-free oats and regular oats, and do they taste different. Oats are naturally gluten free. However, in order for the oats to be considered gluten-free, the farmer has to certify that the oats were not cross contaminated with any grains known to have gluten in them (wheat, rye, barley etc) during the process or transportation. Most celiacs can safely eat certified gluten-free oats. Be sure to check with your doctor before introducing oats to your diet! If you can eat it, then oatmeal may end up being your favorite breakfast item :)